Skip to content

Thoughts Behind Our 2013 Holiday Card

February 26, 2014

2013 xmas card      So, this Holiday season, I sent out this Holiday card.  As an amateur photographer, I often stew over any of our marketing materials.  With the hectic holiday season, I was running out of time and ended up putting this together.

I had the thought for this card in my mind for quite sometime.  The quote at the top has been a guiding one for me for the last few years and I previously mentioned that on this blog here.

I do believe when one door closes, another one can open.  That has been the case for me.  Ten years ago, I never imagined I would be in solo practice and doing the work I have been privileged to do as I do it.  I am grateful.  GRATITUDE.

I photographed my two children.  First on the right, my 6 year-old son with his Jack-O-Lantern smile (8 teeth lost), proudly donning his Pittsburgh Pirates jersey while we vacationed in Savannah, GA.     LOYALTY.  My family and I just moved back to Pittsburgh from WV on August 1.   The City of Pittsburgh was abuzz all Fall over the Pirates’ winning season.  It had been 20 years since the Pirates had a winning season.  TENACITY.  PERSEVERANCE.  My father was an outstanding baseball player and baseball/softball have always been significant parts of our lives.

FACE YOUR FEARS.  My 4 year-old daughter is pictured on the left bungee jumping at Trax Farm near our home.  This was something she had never done.  She was afraid at first, like many of us, but then “faced her fears”- a phrase we repeat often almost daily in our home.  For example, this morning she “faced her fears” by going downstairs all by herself to retrieve push-ups out of the freezer for breakfast (yes for breakfast).  FACE YOUR FEARS.

In the middle photo, there I am.  I ran out of time and had to have my assistant Stephanie take a picture of the three of us in our office parking lot with her iphone.  Nothing fancy.  Not our hair, or our clothes and certainly  not the background.  I wanted the photo to be of the back of the three of us and holding hands.  My children (and my mom!) have been troopers as I have ramped up my firm.

For 2014, I do hope that when life gives you lemons, you make lemonade, whether in your personal life or in your business life.  My firm is in the lemonade-making business.  We help clients get out of bad situations, take risks, face their fears, overcome, perserve, seize opportunities.   I know that when one door closes, another one really can open, if your eyes are open wide enough.

You can click here to open the Holiday Card.  If you would like to be added to our newsletter list, email Stephanie.

No comments yet

Leave a comment